PDA

View Full Version : How To: Prolumen HID Install With Relay Harness



Devin98
12-23-2005, 03:43 PM
Hello Everyone,

Here is a detailed step-by-step process on installing a Prolumen (Or any HID Kit) with our Relay harness, by Devin98 at http://www.thexenonstore.com

This will allow you to keep your auto light feature and install HID\'s, during the day your headlights will be off and when it gets dark they will turn on.

Relay Harnesses Here:
http://torontomazda3.com/forum/read.php?TID=4562
Prolumen HID Kits Here:
http://torontomazda3.com/forum/read.php?TID=3295

To start off let’s look at the wiring connections for the Xenon Store Relay harness:

http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/wiring.jpg

1) Now to the car, refer to the owners manual with the car to replace the stock halogen bulbs with the Prolumen HID bulbs, it was impossible to take pictures of this due to the angle of the headlights.

2) Now that the bulbs are in place we need to make the relay harness connections.

3) First remove the battery box cover and connect the red fused power wire from the relay harness to the nut on the positive battery terminal

http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/1.jpg

4) Then take the black ground wire from the relay harness and connect it to a grounding point, I like to use an existing screw in the car so ensure that the ground touches bare metal, I used a hood pop trigger you can use anything or install it using a metal tap screw:

http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/2.jpg

5) Next mount the relay harness itself, I used a self tapping screw to mount it on the battery box itself, you can mount it anywhere.

6) Next we will use the white signal wire. (Signal wire it to tell the relay when it should turn on). You will need a tap-in for this part they can be found at your local hardware store to electronics store, they will look like this:

http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/3.jpg

7) Remove your turn signal harness from the headlight itself its on the outside of the headlight:

http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/4.jpg

8) You will need to use the tap-in to connect the signal wire to the white with orange stripe wire on the turn signal harness, it will look like this. Ensure you make a solid connection between the two wires. Note: you might need to remove some of the plastic covering to expose these wires.

http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/5.jpg

9) Those are all the basic connections for the relay harness next we will start to connect the ballasts to the harness. Mount both ballasts and igniters somewhere secure using provided brackets or double sided tape/zip ties.

10) Time to make the ballast connections

11) Plug in both connections from the HID light bulbs

12) connect the black wire from the HID Wire Harness (Different then the HID Relay Harness) to a ground source, there are two ways to do this
1) connect it to the ground on the stock headlight harness
http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/6.jpg
2) or cut off the spade connector at the end and connect a ring terminal and ground it off to the chassis like the relay harness
http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/7.jpg

13) Next you will need to connect the male spade connector from the ballast harness to the female connector on the relay harness:
http://www.thexenonstore.com/DRL/8.jpg

14) And you are done turn on your HID\'s and Enjoy, this method will still keep your autolight feature working.

http://www.thexenonstore.com/installs/mazda3gt8_large.jpg

chinsterr
12-25-2005, 01:14 PM
I smell a sticky :p

majic
02-01-2006, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by chinsterr


I smell a sticky :p

i smell a how-to section :sarc

Devin98
02-01-2006, 04:09 PM
Originally posted by majic



Originally posted by chinsterr


I smell a sticky :p

i smell a how-to section :sarc

Thats not a bad idea at all :)

MajesticBlueNTO
02-01-2006, 07:26 PM
Originally posted by majic



Originally posted by chinsterr


I smell a sticky :p

i smell a how-to section :sarc

many how-tos for the 3 here (http://www.bozzak.com/mazda/viewforum.php?f=9)

bluntman
02-01-2006, 07:55 PM
Stuck, thanks Devin & MBN!

cstraw
03-21-2006, 10:15 AM
I purchased both the Prolumen kit and relay from Devin. The installation was a breeze thanks to the wonderful write up.

Thanks Devin,
Chris

Devin98
04-18-2006, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by cstraw



I purchased both the Prolumen kit and relay from Devin. The installation was a breeze thanks to the wonderful write up.

Thanks Devin,
Chris

Thanks, and I am glad everything went smooth no problems with our install kit yet :D

invisibleCK
05-16-2006, 10:32 AM
Just curious, are there any safety precautions that I should be aware of before installing the HID kit? For example, ground something or battery off. Don’t wanna be ground myself to the car..haha…

bluntman
05-16-2006, 10:40 AM
Disconnect the battery.

FLIPDADY
05-16-2006, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by bluntman


Disconnect the battery.
You have to disconnect the battery?:D

invisibleCK
05-16-2006, 04:49 PM
Thanks...but i got enough stupid question...how to disconnecting the battery...maybe i should refer back to the owners manual ....damn i feel like a total noob.

majic
05-16-2006, 05:11 PM
Originally posted by invisibleCK


Thanks...but i got enough stupid question...how to disconnecting the battery...maybe i should refer back to the owners manual ....damn i feel like a total noob.

maybe you should leave the install up to a professional then.. the PJB costs about $2000 USD IIRC...

invisibleCK
05-17-2006, 01:30 AM
i guess i will decide when i get the kit...just a little excited that\'s all.

SABIO
05-17-2006, 08:05 PM
PB + J for $2000 usd??? Where do you eat?

bluntman
05-17-2006, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by invisibleCK


i guess i will decide when i get the kit...just a little excited that\'s all.

Don\'t let majic scare you off...he\'s just like a big teddy bear inside...one with razor sharp teeth.

Just use a #10 open ended wrench to undo the nut on the black negative ground wire on the battery. Once loosened, lift off the cable and bend it so that it doesn\'t touch the battery terminal while you are working on the car. Once you\'re done just reinstall the cable.

invisibleCK
05-17-2006, 11:34 PM
Awesome Bluntman! You are a great man! ...i mean...great Bluntman!

invisibleCK
06-11-2006, 11:15 AM
After installing the HID..i realize the lights are not balance. like one side point higher than the other side. Any suggestions?

bluntman
06-11-2006, 11:18 AM
Reseat the bulb.

Devin98
06-11-2006, 03:40 PM
Originally posted by bluntman


Reseat the bulb.

Yup that sounds like your problem, ensure that the tab on the bulb is lined up with the notch on the headlight.

-Devin

invisibleCK
06-11-2006, 10:53 PM
cool thanks....

Axela Mazda 3
06-22-2006, 04:34 PM
After installing the HIDs, I noticed that the cut off is not straight. I reseated the bulbs 2 times and I made sure the tab on the bulbs is in place, but it\'s still shooting a crooked cut off. Also, the driver\'s side is obviously brighter than the passenger side. Anybody can explain the cut off and help me figure out how to get the headlights to look symetrical?

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j9/herchar/P1020430.jpg
http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j9/herchar/P1020431.jpg
http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j9/herchar/P1020432.jpg

Devin98
06-22-2006, 04:36 PM
Can you take a picture from a little future back?

FLIPDADY
06-23-2006, 09:10 AM
Xenon\'s the man to see regarding this matter. I had the same issues you did until he adjusted my lamps at last Friday\'s meet.

queens49
01-30-2007, 04:39 PM
Has anybody mounted the ballasts and ignitors using double sided tape? Any problems with using just the tape? I was going to take the suggestion in the installation manual and tape it to the battery box below the air intake for the battery. Little worried that the tape may give, and the ballasts falls though.

Devin98
01-30-2007, 08:31 PM
Has anybody mounted the ballasts and ignitors using double sided tape? Any problems with using just the tape? I was going to take the suggestion in the installation manual and tape it to the battery box below the air intake for the battery. Little worried that the tape may give, and the ballasts falls though.

I have done tons of installs with the 3M double sided tape no problems to date :)

Mine have been attached for 2 1/2 years and counting :)

-Devin

majic
01-30-2007, 09:00 PM
Has anybody mounted the ballasts and ignitors using double sided tape? Any problems with using just the tape? I was going to take the suggestion in the installation manual and tape it to the battery box below the air intake for the battery. Little worried that the tape may give, and the ballasts falls though.

i used industrial strength velcro (http://torontomazda3.ca/forum/showthread.php?p=82069#post82069)

queens49
01-30-2007, 11:17 PM
i used industrial strength velcro (http://torontomazda3.ca/forum/showthread.php?p=82069#post82069)

Awesome, thanks for the replies guys. I think I'm to see if they will fit where equiyab mounted his (below your post in the link in included) . I have the hatch, but with the new slim ballasts, I'm pretty sure I can hide the entire thing under there. I won't be able to install the kit till Friday, but at first glance, the wires seem short to me to go to the other side. The kit has been sold for so long w/out and issues, so it's probably me just being pessimistic, and once I start doing it, everything will work out great. Can't wait to install them...

seelsy
07-09-2009, 11:08 AM
im sorry for bringing back a year old thread, but do i need to do this mod for an 09 since my drls are on the highbeams, wouldnt my autolight feature not send power to the ballast until the auto feature turns on the lowbeams? my highbeams are on all day long since they are the drl, then once it gets dark, the power gets supplied to the low beams, where the hids would be hooked into.

bunchi
07-09-2009, 12:08 PM
im sorry for bringing back a year old thread, but do i need to do this mod for an 09 since my drls are on the highbeams, wouldnt my autolight feature not send power to the ballast until the auto feature turns on the lowbeams? my highbeams are on all day long since they are the drl, then once it gets dark, the power gets supplied to the low beams, where the hids would be hooked into.


you don't need the harness since your DRL are already your high beams. it's already wired properly so it's all plug and play now. and yes, it will not turn on until the autolight turns on the low beams (assuming you're changing your low beams, why change the highs anyway? :chuckle) but i would not use the autolight feature, I don't want the HIDs flashing every so often the autolight thinks it's too dark.

seelsy
07-09-2009, 12:23 PM
ya i guess you wouldnt want it firing when pulling into the garage and stuff, but is it firing then turning off, aslong as it doesnt do it repeatedly bad for the hid?

bunchi
07-09-2009, 12:33 PM
the HID's firing then turning off are not necessarily bad for them, but if you can avoid it then better. it's more on when you have your HIDs on and then starting the car, that point where the lack of power to the lights *could* shorten the life of your bulbs.

Nextmod
07-09-2009, 04:21 PM
I have a set of Prolumen H7 6K instock on clearance if anyone is interested

machx
09-30-2010, 05:14 AM
Ok, so what you're saying, is that with a HID kit [H7 6000k] (That I have bought from here http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=190444765984&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT#ht_4783wt_911 )....

What do I need to get to run that kit and keep my DLR and AUTO lights? Is that possible?

Is there another way to get the relay (the relay link is down from the first post), because I am in Windsor... No offense to Devin, but it would be so much easier to just buy it off ebay and have it shipped to my house lol...

Is there a way?

I also have foglight [12V35W H11-6K] and HiBeam [12V35W 9005-8K] HIDs on their way too... those will be installed.

So essentially what I want is...
To have my HIDs installed on all my front lights (Lo/Hi/Fog)
And keep my DLR and Auto lights...

Is that possible? Please tell me it is, because I already bought all this shit from ebay and it's a bitch to return because of shipping! :D

Cheers!

machx
09-30-2010, 05:16 AM
Can I not edit my posts?

I meant DRLs not DLR lol, must have been thinking about the cameras lol!

machx
09-30-2010, 05:34 AM
Ok, how many of these http://thexenonstore.com/relay.php would I need to do what I said above?

cwp_sedan
09-30-2010, 08:36 AM
1. It's pointless to have high beam HIDs.

2. Autolights will be intact though you may get misfires when using it. I myself have got them using it and it has nothing to do with the hardware or installation. It's just how the Mazda is.

3. Unless you completely rewire your lights, which isn't all that easy, you will not be able to keep your DRLs on your 2006. That's just how it is.

The only way to keep everything intact is to use a capacitor to balance out the flicker and make the power constant.
http://www.torontomazda3.ca/forum/showthread.php?41856-where-can-i-buy-a-antiflicker-capacitor



On a side note...stay away from thexenonstore.com

machx
09-30-2010, 05:13 PM
1. It's pointless to have high beam HIDs.

2. Autolights will be intact though you may get misfires when using it. I myself have got them using it and it has nothing to do with the hardware or installation. It's just how the Mazda is.

3. Unless you completely rewire your lights, which isn't all that easy, you will not be able to keep your DRLs on your 2006. That's just how it is.

The only way to keep everything intact is to use a capacitor to balance out the flicker and make the power constant.
http://www.torontomazda3.ca/forum/showthread.php?41856-where-can-i-buy-a-antiflicker-capacitor

On a side note...stay away from thexenonstore.com



RE: 1 - Why not? I thought about it, and figured just do it all? Hi/Lo and Fog... I don't use my Hi much, but was going to.. but I see where you're coming from..

RE: 2 -So just make sure I get the relay and I should be able to keep my Auto?

RE: 3 - I thought using the antiflcker before the relay would allow the DLR to function as normal?

And then, where do I get the relay? Is that the same as a harness?

Do I need one relay for the entire lighting circuit for the front end of my car, or would I need one for each bulb/ballast?

And on that tip, how about those capacitors which would reduce the flicker, would that be required on each ballast/light, or once before I hit the relay?

Thanks for all the help, just trying to narrow everything down. I've read SOOOO much and it's overwhelming at best with so many different methods and opinons.

Cheers!

cwp_sedan
09-30-2010, 05:39 PM
RE: 1 - Why not? I thought about it, and figured just do it all? Hi/Lo and Fog... I don't use my Hi much, but was going to.. but I see where you're coming from..

RE: 2 -So just make sure I get the relay and I should be able to keep my Auto?

RE: 3 - I thought using the antiflcker before the relay would allow the DLR to function as normal?

And then, where do I get the relay? Is that the same as a harness?

Do I need one relay for the entire lighting circuit for the front end of my car, or would I need one for each bulb/ballast?

And on that tip, how about those capacitors which would reduce the flicker, would that be required on each ballast/light, or once before I hit the relay?

Thanks for all the help, just trying to narrow everything down. I've read SOOOO much and it's overwhelming at best with so many different methods and opinons.

Cheers!

1. HIDs for the lowbeam are much brighter so adding them to your highbeams would be just a waste. I find the 9005 bulbs to be bright enough.

2. They will function the same no matter what. They will always come on when it's dark out.

3. The cap works by running the lights run at full power all of the time, even during the day.

A relay harness is what you need. Try getting it from any of our sponsors that sell HIDs.

You need 1 relay harness per lighting system. (eg. Fogs = 1 harness, Lowbeams = 1 harness, Highbeams :loco = 1 harness)

I'm not too sure about the caps even though I helped install them on a members car. Search around and find the few threads on the topic. You only need the cap(s) for the lowbeams.

machx
09-30-2010, 06:02 PM
1. HIDs for the lowbeam are much brighter so adding them to your highbeams would be just a waste. I find the 9005 bulbs to be bright enough.

2. They will function the same no matter what. They will always come on when it's dark out.

3. The cap works by running the lights run at full power all of the time, even during the day.

A relay harness is what you need. Try getting it from any of our sponsors that sell HIDs.

You need 1 relay harness per lighting system. (eg. Fogs = 1 harness, Lowbeams = 1 harness, Highbeams :loco = 1 harness)

I'm not too sure about the caps even though I helped install them on a members car. Search around and find the few threads on the topic. You only need the cap(s) for the lowbeams.

Ok, so one harness per set of lights. Sorted...

And only need capicitor on the Lo beam HIDs because they are DRLs.... (I've found out how to do this, so that's on problem solved), now for shits sake, would there be anything wrong about putting a capacitor on the fogs as well? It won't help since they don't run as DRL, but it wouldn't hurt it either... just for simplicity, and since they're cheap anyways, already ordered 4 so I'll have left overs, and I am thinking about prefabing the entire set up first in my garage to make sure everything it neat and sealed and put away properly, THEN installing them.

I'm thinking might as well just wire it all up the same...

So this is what I got right now and ordered...
1 set of LoBeams [12V35W H7-6K] and a capacitor I instead to use this as my DRLs as well
1 set of HiBeams [12V35W 9005-8K] and a capictor After suggestions from others, I may not proceed with this but maybe if I feel the urge since it would be stupid to return anyways, unless I can sell it
1 set of FogLights [12V35W H11-6K] and a capictor Which will not be DRLs but if the capictor doesnt hurt, I might as well put it into the wiring unit.

Now, considering all of that, I would just need 3 separate wiring harnesses, one for each set.

And these lights will all work using the AUTO feature once everything is installed using the above, and my DRLs will be functional as well?

Am I correct in this?

And any suggestion on which sponsor to purchase the relays from? A good balance of affordable vs. quality. If I can order online that would be great, as Im in Windsor, it would be a pain to drive up just to grab some wires. Ebay would be great if possible.

Thanks for all your help! I like to have as much information and knowledge before attempting any project, Ive already dumped enough money into this, dont want to half-ass it or **** up! :D

cwp_sedan
09-30-2010, 06:30 PM
You are making this way too complicated.

This is how you need to wire it up.

Low beams - HID kit, relay harness, Capacitor(s)
Fogs - HID kit, relay harness
High beams (again pointless) - HID kit, relay harness


If you ask the questions again about relay harnesses or caps you are getting banned lol. :chuckle

machx
09-30-2010, 11:07 PM
You are making this way too complicated.
This is how you need to wire it up.
Low beams - HID kit, relay harness, Capacitor(s)
Fogs - HID kit, relay harness
High beams (again pointless) - HID kit, relay harness


If you ask the questions again about relay harnesses or caps you are getting banned lol. :chuckle

Thanks, i'm going to go with that! I was just wondering if the capicitor does anything wrong if it's on a non DRL circuit...

And I still dont' know where to get the damned harness besides that place you said NOT to go lol... I'll search ebay again! :bang :)

machx
09-30-2010, 11:19 PM
:) OK, no more questions! FOund the harness, ordered the caps, have the kits on thier way... time to test this all out! :)

:headbang

cwp_sedan
09-30-2010, 11:21 PM
We have sponsors on the board that have the relay harnesses. Good luck.