PDA

View Full Version : Please assist - First time ever lowering my car, and have no idea what I need...

monty0501
01-21-2007, 09:25 PM
Hi,

Ive been looking through these forums for sometime now trying to figure out exactly what I need, and what I should look for in order to lower my car.

I noticed the words ProKit and Koni's etc.

I basically want to lower my car just a little bit and yet not wear out my tires, shocks etc. too much in the process.

1. Can anyone assist me as to all the things I will need in order to do this?
Ive heard a lot of people talk about the ProKit which seems like it has what I need, but what else do I need to get?

2. Im fairly new to this, have never owned a car, and always liked the thought of having it just a little lower, possibly as low as the Mazdaspeed 3?

3. Also, is it hard to get the car back to stock down the road?

4. What about winters? How much does it cost to put back to stock?

5. Any good shops for lowering?

Thanks so much for your help on this....I really appreciate any input you can give on experiences, pricing etc.

Monty

CanadaGTO
01-21-2007, 09:58 PM
Hey Monty,

The Pro-kit by Eibach seem to be quite popular, with a mild drop but still quite noticable.

Most do not replace the shocks straight away, but if/when they eventually go, it would always be best to use a shock specific for lowered applications, like the Koni Yellows.

Driving in general will be a little different. It's gonna be a little harsher, and you have to start watching out for potholes, speed bumps, parking lot curbs, and snow drifts in the winter. Takes a little getting used to, fine overall with a mild drop. If you really slam it them it can get dicey :)

Most good mechanics can do the drop, some on this board will be able to recommend a place for a good price. Putting back to stock afterwards is not too hard, just do the opposite and keep your stock springs when you do lower it.