PDA

View Full Version : 2007 Auto Climate control A/C always on

TB76
04-10-2007, 09:18 PM
It seems whenever I turn the auto climate control on...my A/C light is ALWAYS ON.

It auto selects window/floor ever since I got it in November and the mazda tech said it's because the A/C compressor is on, not the A/C.

Won't this affect gas mileage and compressor life? Shouldn't it only use the compressor until the car gets warmed up?

b
04-10-2007, 09:43 PM
Good question. When I went out with a buddy to test drive an 07 last week I couldn't figure out how to turn it off too. He was drivin so I was playing with the new toys that the 04's don't have.

imthatguy
04-10-2007, 10:21 PM
I just got my 3 yesterday so I'm still a total noob at this, but when the dealer explained everything to me, I took it to mean that because it's auto climate control, it would turn on the AC if necessary for the desired temp. set by the occupants. I don't think it's constantly running, just that it's available as required. I might be wrong though, anybody got the manual handy?

cereal83
04-10-2007, 10:28 PM
I have the 07 and the A/C light won't turn off as long as it is on auto. It will blow on the floor/windshield when it is trying to heat the car and it blows in the face/floor when trying to cool down the car. I usually set it at 21 when I am cold and 19 when I am hot.

The gas does get sucked quicker when it is on but it is so convenient that who cares. With an 07, you don't have to touch the weather controls, lights and wipers.

TB76
04-10-2007, 11:14 PM
I agree it is a great feature to have....i didn't touch the controls for a couple of months, just set it at 20...but now I'm thinking about the compressor life (not so much the mileage as I didn't notice too much and was getting 600KM+/tank on R rated winters) because it will always be on whenever the call is on (if you just leave the auto climate on).

cereal83
04-10-2007, 11:43 PM