PDA

View Full Version : Need your help/opinion

Ex-Rolla
04-27-2007, 11:58 PM
Hello everyone!

I have a bit of a problem and it's driving me nuts trying to figure it out. I had my system installed at a shop a while back... cheap price + me being lazy = get someone else to do it. Long story short, i was never really happy with the install (you get what you pay for) because of the constant buzzing of engine noise...

Anyway, today i ripped everything out and decided to do it myself. Really crappy install by the shop, speaker wire and amp/trigger all run together, which is what normally generates the engine noise. I have some experience with this stuff, because i have installed a system in my previous 2 cars along with a couple of friends cars. Anyway, i purchased a really nice 4 channel LOC, 12 gauge speaker wire and a couple of well insulated RCA cables all from Elemental Design. I installed everytihng today, re-grounded the amps properly, ensuring no Power/speaker/RCA wires come into contact with each other. Start the car up and the engine noise is even worse :flaming.

So here is my question... Where did you guys place your LOC. I have mine located right beneath the deck where you would normall have the tape player connected. I can't think of anything else that can cause the problem besides the placement of the LOC and i'm not prepared to take the panels apart and start rewiriing everything.

Any input/suggestions you guys may have would be appreciated!!! thanks!:)

MPS
04-28-2007, 12:09 AM
ground ur RCA to ur head unit see if that helps

if not ur amp may be bad or you still have a bad ground some where in ur car

TheProfessor
04-28-2007, 12:08 PM
I put my LOC in the pocket above the head unit (where the Nav unit would go). I wanted to keep it somewhere close to the deck and the space was perfect.

Ex-Rolla
04-30-2007, 06:50 PM