PDA

View Full Version : Winter & CAI

HappyJappy
06-23-2007, 08:16 PM
Do you guys drive in the winter with ur modded CAI? If so, what brand and any problems?

b
06-23-2007, 08:17 PM
Do you guys drive in the winter with ur modded CAI? If so, what brand and any problems?

I have run the injen last 2 winters without taking it off. No problems. Just needs a good cleaning after the season!

Zubbie
06-23-2007, 09:02 PM
I drove from February on, with a CAI on and I had no problems... but I did get a problem in the spring. With the Fujita CAI.

HappyJappy
06-23-2007, 09:26 PM
Why do some have CEL problems and some dont? is it a 50/50 probililty?

MattC
06-23-2007, 09:32 PM
quality of install?

parking outside vs in?

who knows.

Zubbie
06-23-2007, 09:35 PM
I do park outside every night.

The install is simple I don't think it could be screwed up.

It is just me being unlucky.

Victorious52
06-24-2007, 01:04 AM
ive been driving with my CIA for about 3 years ... i have the K&N Typhoon CIA ... never had any problems with it nor have i had the CEL ever come on ... Just like b said ... you need to clean it ... i personaly clean mine every oil change ... so thats about every 5000km

MattC
06-25-2007, 09:50 AM
Victorious, do you swap it out to be a SRI in the winters? or just leave it as a CAI?

Victorious52
06-25-2007, 12:13 PM
i just left it as cold CIA ... never swaped it. Never had a problem with leaving it CIA for the winter ... the plastic guards do enough to protect it from the snow and water ... like it was mentioned befor you only realy got a problem if your knee high in water

mz3_jeff
06-28-2007, 12:38 PM
I also never had a problem with my Mazdaspeed CAI.
My car is on Tein Stechs and I visited Blue Mountain as my second home.

Tizmee24
06-28-2007, 12:55 PM
Is there any CAI for sale

Unoriginalusername
06-28-2007, 01:13 PM
haven't had the speed through the winter yet to find out how it does with the cai (MS) but i had one on my last car for a few years and no issues