PDA

View Full Version : Throttle body mod

CanSpeed 3
06-08-2008, 03:36 PM
Since i bought my Mazda3 ive been reading a lot on the boards. Ive noticed this "throttle body mod" mentioned a lot. What exactly is it. Grounding the throttle body to achieve a quicker accel? If someone could explain it and tell me how i go about doing this or if i need to buy a special kit that would be great. Thanks guys.

Also if anyone reading this can think of any mods that you can do to the mazda3's yourself let me know. Im new to mazdas, but in love with my car! lol

eqlso
06-08-2008, 04:52 PM
Run a wire from your battery ground to your throttle body. No special kit. Results are debatable. Should smoothen out your powerband.

whiteomega
06-08-2008, 06:26 PM
there's also the throttle body coolant bypass, which will route coolant around the throttle body; using this is a bad idea in the winter, but during the summer, it supposedly results in 4-5 hp.

3GFX
06-09-2008, 12:14 PM
there's also the throttle body coolant bypass, which will route coolant around the throttle body; using this is a bad idea in the winter, but during the summer, it supposedly results in 4-5 hp.

To clarify. Our throttle body circulates coolant from the engine. Obviously when the engine gets hot the coolant will be hot and that heat will tranfer to the throttle body. The mod is to bypass the throttle body, essentially taking it out of the loop and potentially reducing heat and thus warm air entering your engine. This has some benifits if you think about it, but at the same time its probably negligable.