PDA

View Full Version : The Addams Family......

bj21
08-07-2008, 01:10 PM
I am Lurch...

i have been driving my 2008.5 Speed 3 for almost a month now and i still am having trouble launching and shifting from 1st to 2nd...

i gave it some time and figured that i would master it within a week or two....and i am a little better than i was a few weeks ago but i still have trouble in low gears - especially when i am driving around slowly in tight spaces like the underground parking garage...i look like such a tool :blush

i have read up on this and i am wondering if replacing the rear motor mount is going to help me...

what do you think?? i have been driving manual for almost 20 years so its not like i dont know what i am doing...

is the SU motor mount going to help me??

thanks in advance...

bj21

WeatherB
08-07-2008, 01:31 PM
What kind of problem are you having when shifting from 1st to 2nd?

As for tight spaces, you need to engage the clutch slower.

Fobio
08-07-2008, 01:35 PM
yes...the SU mount will help for sure...

I wish I knew a good Addams Family analogy for explaining it...but let me try:

with the SU or CP-E engine mount, you should go from Lurch to being as smooth as Uncle Fester is with the ladies...effortless...

btw...I also know how to explain this exactly mechanically...but I'll let others chime in...

Unoriginalusername
08-09-2008, 07:09 PM
i can't really give you any advice on launching the car since i've only tried once and it was a waste of tires, gas and clutch lol so i usually just roll into it but i have noticed less hop happening after my cobb springs and SU mount.

silvermist99
08-18-2008, 04:23 PM
this car's throttle is quite senstive and makes it diffcult to launch smoothly and slowly at low rpm.