PDA

View Full Version : Track day rims

BlueStreak
09-06-2008, 12:04 AM
Im thinking of picking up a set of 17x8 or 17x8.5 rims over the winter to use for track days. Can you recommend anything? At this point, I don't care about weight so I don't want anything fancy. I'm just looking for something that works and isn't very pricey.

I have a MS3 if that matters.

mleblond
09-06-2008, 01:05 AM
rota's FTW inexpensive and light. don't go wider than 8"

BlueStreak
09-06-2008, 09:54 AM
Why shouldn't I go wider than 8"?

mleblond
09-06-2008, 10:09 AM
Why shouldn't I go wider than 8"? 8 inch sticks out a bit already. Depending on your suspension it may catch the fender on bumps. Im no expert tho, pm allen at simply tire he may be able to explain more on that. Im running 17x7.5" for track on 235,45,17 on my MS3

Fobio
09-06-2008, 11:18 AM
with an 8" wide rim, I'd go 245 width, which may be pushing it already...at 8.5" you HAVE to go with 245+ for proper fitment...you can stretch your tire but it's definitely not recommended for track work...

personally, I'm also looking for for a 17x8" track setup...and run 245/40/17 or 235/45/17, depending on price...we should be looking for +48 to +50mm offset...anything over 245, and you'll have to roll your rear fenders, unless you run a reverse-staggered (front wider than rear) setup, and that means you can't effectively rotate front and back tires...

BlueStreak
09-06-2008, 01:26 PM
Wouldn't running wider fronts make the car very twitchy?

Fobio
09-06-2008, 06:32 PM
Wouldn't running wider fronts make the car very twitchy?

for bad roads like downtown TO, yes...but for the track and the kinda power you're putting down, wider the better...Cobb runs 255/35/18 on 8.5" rims, with rear fenders rolled...