PDA

View Full Version : 2010 3 Sport GT - New owner's first impressions

slam525i
03-27-2009, 01:54 PM
I thought I'd share for anyone thinking of getting a 2010 model.

A little bit of background. I've been driving the same 5-series BMW for the last 10 years. She was built in 1991, but I loved her nonetheless. I absolutely adored her 2.5 liter inline-6 that was as smooth as a turbine engine. No mechanical failures in all those years. But, with so many little defects, I finally retired her last night for a new 3, and I've already put on 200 km. So, keep in mind I'm always comparing the 3 with the old faithful, consciously or otherwise.

Performance - Drivetrain
Both are 2.5 liter cars, but the BMW made a lot more horsepower. However, the Mazda is much quicker off the line because of the short and close ratios on the 6-speed. The clutch is progressive, the throws are short, but 6th is a little too short. (3000 rpm at 120 km/h) In comparison, the BMW hit 80 in first and 180 km/h in 3rd. It was a 4-speed auto.
It would be "unfair" to compare the sound of an inline 6 vs an inline 4. However, the Mazda is almost silent at idle when you're inside.

Performance - Suspension
The Mazda actually rides remarkably well for a small "economy" car. It soaks up the bumps really well. I haven't pushed her all the way to the edge yet, so I don't know what she's like at the limit and how well behaved she'll be. I did feel a little oversteer around an off ramp, but I think that's the DSC pulling the car back in after a slight understeer. (It wasn't lift-off oversteer.)

Exterior
You've all seen it. Love it, hate it, whatever. I spent most of my time IN, so it doesn't really matter.