Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 53

Thread: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck

  1. #26
    sashaytag jaimie08mazda3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Guelph
    Age
    27
    Posts
    8,726
    Thanks
    795
    Thanked 1,000 Times in 735 Posts
    Mentioned
    206 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Lol I am on Katimavik.
    They say I'm an addict but I don't have a problem with alcohol or drugs. I'm an addict because I can't live without bass. Car audio is my addiction. And it will never change.

  2. #27
    Noob
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    I NEED TO DO THIS IN A MONTH. it would be awesome if we can get the pics.
    THanks!!

  3. #28
    Newbie airbiggz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    28
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by mok View Post
    I NEED TO DO THIS IN A MONTH. it would be awesome if we can get the pics.
    THanks!!
    I had this done by one of my electrical buddies and honestly i felt like a complete idiot watching him how fast an straight forward it is lol took approx 30-45 min
    cuz how easy it is if i wasnt lazy i woulda attempted it myself, it is really important tho that u buy the right size wiring and get everything u need in the audio kit, which is HIGHLY reccomendible to purchase. only tricky part is on my car i have a stock dock so my buddy had to CARFULLY take it out and run the wire thru it, other wise aftermarket decks are alot easier
    if you can understand how and where power needs to travel you set
    if you know or and see how pannels come out ( stock or aftermarket decks) your set
    and if you know how to bumb some good BASS then ur also set,,,but if u dont wanna go thru this hassel, i would say try best buy to install there guys will do it in about an hour great service

  4. #29
    sashaytag jaimie08mazda3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Guelph
    Age
    27
    Posts
    8,726
    Thanks
    795
    Thanked 1,000 Times in 735 Posts
    Mentioned
    206 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Exactly. I like the fact on how easy it is. If you take your time and do it properly you will have not too many issues. When I installed HondacivicEG's subs... his gas lid kept on popping open lol. But it hit hard. Soon once my car is back on the road I will be installing it again.

  5. #30
    Noob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    hello everyone how do u hook up a amps and ur subs to ur stock deck can i get some info please and thank you

  6. #31
    sashaytag jaimie08mazda3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Guelph
    Age
    27
    Posts
    8,726
    Thanks
    795
    Thanked 1,000 Times in 735 Posts
    Mentioned
    206 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Read the first page

  7. #32
    Noob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    I pulled out the head unit last night and spent hours trying to hook up the LOC to the wires and in the end of it still nothing worked, it be awsome to have pictures of someone doing an intallation!

  8. #33
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,217
    Thanks
    1,163
    Thanked 1,673 Times in 854 Posts
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    You don't need to pull the stock deck out.

    Pull the panel off the lower B-Pillars (below seatbelt) and you'll see the wires there.
    IIRC - Rear Passenger side is White (+) and Gray (-) and Rear Drivers side is Violet/White (+) and Grey/White (-)
    Tap into those wires and bring them to the back where you can wire them to the LOC.

    To run your power wire - pull off the thin trim strip on the dash. Undo the 2 screws holding your glovebox, and pull out the glove box. You'll see a rats nest of wired leading to a grommet in the firewall. Push about 1.5-2 feet of power wire through there and grab it from the engine bay.

    Run you remote wire to the Fuse box - strip and wrap around the Cigarette Lighter fuse.

    Your ground wire can bolt down to the chassis. I used the seatbelt anchoe bolt. Make sure you get solid metal-to-metal contact.

  9. #34
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,217
    Thanks
    1,163
    Thanked 1,673 Times in 854 Posts
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    You don't need to pull the stock deck out.

    Pull the panel off the lower B-Pillars (below seatbelt) and you'll see the wires there.


    IIRC - Rear Passenger side is White (+) and Gray (-) and Rear Drivers side is Violet/White (+) and Grey/White (-)
    Tap into those wires and bring them to the back where you can wire them to the LOC.



    To run your power wire - pull off the thin trim strip on the dash. Undo the 2 screws holding your glovebox, and pull out the glove box. You'll see a rats nest of wired leading to a grommet in the firewall. Push about 1.5-2 feet of power wire through there and grab it from the engine bay.


    Run you remote wire to the Fuse box - strip and wrap around the Cigarette Lighter fuse.


    Your ground wire can bolt down to the chassis. I used the seatbelt anchoe bolt. Make sure you get solid metal-to-metal contact


    *****Finally added the pictures

  10. #35
    sashaytag jaimie08mazda3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Guelph
    Age
    27
    Posts
    8,726
    Thanks
    795
    Thanked 1,000 Times in 735 Posts
    Mentioned
    206 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Thank you lol. Should have taken more pics while I installed them again haha.

  11. #36
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,217
    Thanks
    1,163
    Thanked 1,673 Times in 854 Posts
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by jaimie08mazda3 View Post
    Thank you lol. Should have taken more pics while I installed them again haha.
    no problem - but my phone was dirty oily as hell after taking pics while installing.
    Its all good though - whatever I can do to help a TM3er.

  12. #37
    Moderator cwp_sedan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    GTA
    Age
    35
    Ride
    07 Mazda3 GT Sedan
    Posts
    14,714
    Thanks
    486
    Thanked 248 Times in 144 Posts
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Take the time and do it right. Wrapping the wires around a fuse is such a hack job. That's just one complaint I have about this install. Just my $.02 though.

  13. #38
    Sr Member thanu31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Scarborough
    Age
    27
    Ride
    2003 Honda S2000
    Posts
    2,749
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 87 Times in 42 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    hey
    so i hooked up an alpine type r to the stock deck but something is not right.

    I connected the LOC to the back of the deck, to the correct wires, (white, purple/white, grey, grey/white).

    So first, the sub wasn't pounding, then I was playing around with the wires, and took out one RCA on the LOC, and the sub started pounding. I put both RCAs back in and it stops pounding.

    So right now the LOC is connected to one RCA, still not pounding as hard as I heard Type R's pound, but its pounding. But i know something is messed up.

    Anyone know what the problem might be?
    Past:
    2003 Protege5
    2007 Mazda3 GT
    2002 E46
    ///M
    2010 Mazdaspeed3
    2003 Honda S2000
    Current:
    2005 S2000

  14. #39
    Newbie theo575's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Had a similar issue, could be due to tapping into incorrect wires. One side is giving a signal the other isn't to test it use a splitter from the side that works and plug your sub into that. If it starts going then you've hit the money.
    2006 GT Sedan - Sharkfin - NRG catch can - Spin On Conversion - 10" Pioneer Sub w/ Ported Box - Pioneer speakers and components - Ballistic sound deadening front and back doors - Fujita F5 CAI - L.E.D. tails & 3rd Brake light - Redline Tuning Hood Struts - TWM short shifter - Vibrant Stut Bar...for now


  15. #40
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,217
    Thanks
    1,163
    Thanked 1,673 Times in 854 Posts
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by thanu31 View Post
    hey
    so i hooked up an alpine type r to the stock deck but something is not right.

    I connected the LOC to the back of the deck, to the correct wires, (white, purple/white, grey, grey/white).

    So first, the sub wasn't pounding, then I was playing around with the wires, and took out one RCA on the LOC, and the sub started pounding. I put both RCAs back in and it stops pounding.

    So right now the LOC is connected to one RCA, still not pounding as hard as I heard Type R's pound, but its pounding. But i know something is messed up.

    Anyone know what the problem might be?
    you sure you got the L+R RCA's right?
    or maybe the one of the input wires came loose

  16. #41
    Jr Member Bosshammy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    this was my first, indepth mod, went well loc is placed behind the deck and everythings working great, tapping nito the wires was a pain. good install , never wired to the cig litghter fuse.. is that just for the remote?

  17. #42
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,217
    Thanks
    1,163
    Thanked 1,673 Times in 854 Posts
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bosshammy View Post
    this was my first, indepth mod, went well loc is placed behind the deck and everythings working great, tapping nito the wires was a pain. good install , never wired to the cig litghter fuse.. is that just for the remote?
    the remote wire is so that the amp turns on/off when the key is turned.
    Otherwise - it will stay on constantly with battery power.

  18. #43
    Jr Member Bosshammy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by Default User View Post
    the remote wire is so that the amp turns on/off when the key is turned.
    Otherwise - it will stay on constantly with battery power.
    wired remote to the harness ( yellow w/silver dots ) works great no issues.

  19. #44
    Moderator cwp_sedan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    GTA
    Age
    35
    Ride
    07 Mazda3 GT Sedan
    Posts
    14,714
    Thanks
    486
    Thanked 248 Times in 144 Posts
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bosshammy View Post
    wired remote to the harness ( yellow w/silver dots ) works great no issues.


    This is where it should be wired to. IMO too many people tap the cig lighter for EVERYTHING.

  20. #45
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    True, but it's easy as hell to tap in this

  21. #46
    Jr Member zoomahh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    I think I'm staying on topic with this;
    Does ANYONE have a wire schematic for the 2012 GS sedan oem headunit, and if not....is there anywhere I can get this diagram? Ie wire colors, blah blah blah?
    I plan on installing my speakers and amp soon and that's one piece of the puzzle I haven't gotten yet :/
    2012 Mz3 GS SkyActiv CWP Mods; DDM 50w 6k lows / Headlights tinted with Lamin-X 6% overlay / DRL Nokya Hyper Yellows / Foglights; Morimoto 35w 3K's with Lamin-X yellow overlay / Dealer tinted sides n rear / KiCkER kx 600.4 4ch amp / Alpine Type "R" comps front / Alpine SPR-68's rear / License plate LED's / Interior LED's /***MY ICE UPGRADE***http://www.torontomazda3.ca/forum/sh...-Zoomahh's 2012-SkyActiv-ice-upgrade*** /Detail Day July 2013 http://www.torontomazda3.ca/forum/sh...il-Day-!-!-!-D
    2011 Mz2 GX CWP (wifey's car) / led interiors only

  22. #47
    Sr Member yearoftherat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Ride
    2015 Nissan Rogue
    Posts
    4,910
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomahh View Post
    I think I'm staying on topic with this;
    Does ANYONE have a wire schematic for the 2012 GS sedan oem headunit, and if not....is there anywhere I can get this diagram? Ie wire colors, blah blah blah?
    I plan on installing my speakers and amp soon and that's one piece of the puzzle I haven't gotten yet :/
    This should help:

    http://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2...radio-loc.html

    http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=145935.0

  23. #48
    Jr Member zoomahh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    @ yotr
    Thanks for the links dude after reading up on it, I'm like WOW it's so much easier to get at the deck than my 07 sedan was

  24. #49
    Jr Member Pokaroo Kris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Edmonton
    Age
    36
    Posts
    535
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Hooking up a subwoofer if using a stock deck.

    Great read jaimie. I have another question though. Is there a way to hook up a sub set to your stock deck with sacrificing the rear speakers?

  25. #50
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,217
    Thanks
    1,163
    Thanked 1,673 Times in 854 Posts
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You're not sacrificing the rear speakers.
    Simply tapping (splitting) into the signal.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Just added a subwoofer to my stock stereo
    By marwanni in forum I.C.E (In-Car Entertainment)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 12:24 PM
  2. subwoofer control - stock deck
    By cwp_sedan in forum I.C.E (In-Car Entertainment)
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 08:23 PM
  3. Hooking up a CD changer to stock HU
    By miggiddy in forum I.C.E (In-Car Entertainment)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-20-2004, 10:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •