Thread: Rusted rotors

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Rusted rotors

Newbie here.

Thinking of buying a 2004 Mazda 3 GT and the rotors are rusted..mostly around the edges.........is this a bad sign..that I shouldn't buy the car..it has 93,000 kms on it...would it still pass a safety? It is a Alberta car.

Thanks
    DEB

Sr Member
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Rusted rotors

Once the car drives it should clear up..nothing to worrie about
    ​A lion would never cheat on his wife, but a Tiger Wood.

Uncle Ben
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by mymx.3 View Post
    Newbie here.

Thinking of buying a 2004 Mazda 3 GT and the rotors are rusted..mostly around the edges.........is this a bad sign..that I shouldn't buy the car..it has 93,000 kms on it...would it still pass a safety? It is a Alberta car.

Thanks
    DEB

The rust is nothing to worry about but if you want to know if they will pass safety you will need to get a vernier and measure the thickness of the rotor. somewhere on the rotor it should state minnimum thickness in mm and that will tell you if it will pas or not according to your measurement from the vernier
    1991 Nissan Pathfinder - trade in, 2005 Mazda 3 GX ty grey - Write off, 2010 Mazda 3 GT E sedan CWP- trade in, 2010 Speed 3 w/tech CWP - Up for sale (soon), 2007 Mazda 3 GS silver- motor swapped in to 2009 MS3 CWP that had blown engine, 2002 BMW 330ci silver- new winter ride, 2005 BMW M3- new toy

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

This is perfectly normal. Happens 2 seconds after rain or if you wash the car

2004 Mazda3 GT { BLACK MICA / 5MT / GFX pkg / BLACK, RED & GOLD BEEBS }

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)