View Poll Results: Which would you rather own?

Voters
29. You may not vote on this poll
  • MK7 VW Golf TDI

8 27.59%
  • 2014 Mazda 3 S GT

21 72.41%

Thread: 2014 Mazda S GT Hatch vs. Mk7 VW Golf TDI

Noob
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default 2014 Mazda S GT Hatch vs. Mk7 VW Golf TDI

All,
    I am in the market for a new car in march. I am a college student at a military academy (USN) and am looking for a fuel efficient car to drive to my house and significant other's house over 250 miles away on weekends.
    After plenty of research, I have narrowed my choices down to the MK7 Golf TDI and the new Mazda 3.
    I absolutely love driving and take any opportunity to get behind the steering wheel, and hope that you all could help me in my decision for my first car.
    I plan on financing this car and driving it until it dies.

After seeing the MK7 Golf at an auto show today, I am stuck in a rut! I love the interior of the Golf and find it very "business smart," clean, and comfortable, while the Mazda's does seem a bit cheaper, more snug, and technical. I can even fit behind myself (6'2") in the golf, something that is not so comfortable in the 3. I do not like the road noise associated with the Mazda or the lack of a speedometer in the S models, but I love their drive, steering, pep, and the HUD. I am concerned about the low fuel economy numbers discussed on this forum about the new 3 and the not-so-great figures on fuelly. Compared to the TDI, this is a major weak point of the 3 in my book.

... Or, are the rumors about VW true? Will the savings on gas from a TDI be spent directly on the crazy maintenance fees? Several people I talked to today at the auto show had TDIs and reported no issues at all, but the internet seems to say that those cases are rare.