Thread: Looking to get into photography need advice on a camera

Thanks
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Looking to get into photography need advice on a camera

I want to be able to take rolling shots of cars and nature things. i want to have depth perception and long exposure. A camera that can do video and pictures is ideal. I am wondering if i need a full dslr camera or if a bridge camera will be able to do what i want. I am very new to all of this and want some guidance of want to look for.

Also what to look for if i buy a used camera or if that is even a good idea at all.

Ride
    BRZ 2018
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

Default Re: Looking to get into photography need advice on a camera

I would suggest to start with an entry level camera (canon rebel series) with a nice lens (suggestion: 50mm with 1.3f aperture)

That will give you nice depth perception.

As for buying used, im quite sceptical with that as you wouldnt know whether the camera's been dropped, or worse the lense is dropped.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Mazda 3 Sedan 2012
    Mazda 3 Hatch 2015
    Subaru BRZ 2018 - Current

3. The Following User Says Thank You to muchikori For This Useful Post:

BMcC619 (02-27-2017)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,156 Times in 643 Posts
    Mentioned
    295 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Buy a cheaper Nikon or Canon DSLR body with a kit lens to try things out. You can then buy additional lenses, flashes, filters and other accessories to up your game, even the cheapest bodies are quite good these days. Down the road if you get serious about it, you can replace your body with a higher end one and still be able to use all your lenses (relatively, ignoring fx vs dx). If you get one of the bridge cameras the entire thing will be throw away down the road.

- 2021 Porsche Macan GTS -
    - 2016 Lexus NX200t F Sport -
    - 2010 Mazdaspeed 3 Black Mica - SOLD -