Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Manual Driving Advice

Thanks
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Manual Driving Advice

So I have had my stick shift car for about 4 months now. I never knew how to drive stick till the day I bought the car, it was a dicely ride home.

Im still no expert nor even very good at it, I jerk the car often still stall form time to time. My passengers dont have a confortable drive with me. But i can drive around with not other problem then perhaps a jerky drive.

But seen I am still learning I would like to kill any bad habit that I might getting used to, im going to list things I do that feel im doing wrong, I dont want to do things that would burn my clutch.

1. When I am at a light specially if I am at the front. I wait till the light turn amber. I put the car in gear and hold the biting point and hold the brake, till the light goes green. I do this because Im scared of stalling and Im really slow when I coming out of a stop. Should I be practising letting the clutch out slowly at green and adding gas at the same time, im really slow at that or I spin out the wheels if the pressure is on i try to do it fast.

2. When Im at a left turn, right turn i told the clutch at the biting point and feather the brake inch foward, as I might have to turn really fast and again im afraid of stalling.

3. When I pull into a parking space, I push the clutch in completely and roll into the parking space, neutral whn Im in.

4. When I have to go really slow or driving reverse I use the biting point and feather with brake on and of to control speed. Like in stop and go traffic I let the cultch out to the biting point or let it out really slow all the way. I really only move when there i about a half a car length or a full length room in front of me. I never add any gas. And put it in neutral when im stopped.