Thread: 2014 Mazda 3 GT HB - Front Strut Clunk/Knock/Pop

Noob
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Angry 2014 Mazda 3 GT HB - Front Strut Clunk/Knock/Pop

Bit of a rant, but ultimately would like some advice on next steps...

I've been chasing a front end clunk/knock/pop for the past several months. Only occurs in certain situations...going over speed bumps at 20km/hr - 40km/hr, going over uneven roads at less than 40km/hr, turning left from full stop, accelerating on a slight incline and sometimes turning right. Clunk/knock/pop is not constant once it happens and you hear it, usually occurs only once. At first I thought it was my endlinks or sway bar bushings, but had those checked and they're fine. Also had everything tightened. Brought it to 2 different dealership and 3 indy mechanics (even Jimmy wasn't able to find what was wrong) to have a look at to see if one of them is able to identify what is causing the clunk/knock/pop - none were able to

After spending a couple hours online I found another discussion with folks who have been experiencing the same issue and quoted TSB 02-001/16 was able to fix the issue. I figured I'd take a gamble that this would be the fix and made an appointment for today. I took the TSB to one of the dealerships I went to previously and asked them to perform the work on the vehicle based on the TSB. They dismissed the TSB and wanted to do another diagnosis until I told them they already performed a diagnosis and found nothing. Took a little convincing but they agreed to perform the work described in the TSB. Estimated time to perform all tasks on the TSB is listed as 2.4 hours.