Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Installing trunk light strip

  1. #1
    Jr Member Metal Wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 29 Times in 14 Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Installing trunk light strip

    So... I want to do something and I have no idea what I am doing. It is possible that either me or my car will not survive this.
    Any help is appreciated.

    I bought the following trunk light strip: http://a.co/5UfDmrh

    I think I more or less know how to pull off the trim and access the harness for the lights. Splicing isn't really a problem either.

    But here is the question (and you thought you've heard it all! Bet never anything this dumb!) - do I need to disconnect the car battery for this mod?
    From what I researched, all tutorials for backup camera say that you should disconnect the battery. But in theory... if the lights aren't on... then I assume no power is being supplied to them. Therefore it should be safe to splice into without disconnecting the negative terminal from the battery?

    Or am I doomed with this project?

  2. #2
    Sr Member Noisy Crow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    4,137
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 33 Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    You are probably okay without doing it, but I'd pull the fuse.
    2008 Carbon Gray GT Sedan 5 Speed

  3. #3
    Jr Member Metal Wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 29 Times in 14 Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    That does make sense... :o I'll do just that! Thank you!

    On a side note, now I am wondering if that mod is street legal at all? :/ I figured so long as I don't connect the blue light at the back, then having it as a break light/flowing signal light should be okay...

  4. #4
    Newbie shawnmcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    I've seen plenty of trucks with a similar light at the rear of the bed under the tailgate that do the flowing signal and brake light stuff, so can't see it being illegal. Might be worth it to check with a cop though just in case.

  5. #5
    Jr Member Metal Wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 29 Times in 14 Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    Quote Originally Posted by shawnmcw View Post
    I've seen plenty of trucks with a similar light at the rear of the bed under the tailgate that do the flowing signal and brake light stuff, so can't see it being illegal. Might be worth it to check with a cop though just in case.
    Yeah, that's what I figured more or less. Definitely seen tucks with tailgate light bars.

    If only there was an easy way to check this info with law enforcement. I don't think I ever saw a police officer unless its on my commute to work (I never leave my house otherwise, which is probably why).

  6. #6
    Noob
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    Always disconnect the battery as a safety precaution! Is there a reason u donít want to disconnect the battery or just trying to be lazy? Lol

  7. #7
    Sr Member Noisy Crow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    4,137
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 33 Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    Pulling the fuse for the circuit does the exact same thing without trashing the radio setup or the ECU learning.

    As for being lazy: how hard is it to type "you" rather that "u"?

  8. #8
    Newbie muchikori's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Scarborough
    Ride
    BRZ 2018
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Installing trunk light strip

    Curious if you've already installed it... wondering how it looks! and would you be able to post a video of it working?
    Mazda 3 Sedan 2012
    Mazda 3 Hatch 2015
    Subaru BRZ 2018 - Current

Similar Threads

  1. Trunk light/hatch light not working
    By Nino in forum Problems with the Mazda3
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2016, 08:07 PM
  2. Trunk Light
    By eqlso in forum Lighting, Electrical & Security
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-02-2015, 08:20 PM
  3. LED light strip placement
    By MZee in forum Lighting, Electrical & Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-23-2012, 03:07 AM
  4. Trunk light mod!
    By Kappa in forum Lighting, Electrical & Security
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 06:09 PM
  5. Help with LED strip light project
    By rsquared in forum Other Cars
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 04:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •