Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

  1. #1
    Noob
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    I'm just about set for a clutch job but am wondering if I should be replacing the slave cylinder at the same time. I haven't noticed any issues with the existing one (as far as I know; I'm still relatively new to cars) but wasn't sure if this was a proactive-replace item or if I should leave the old one in place if it's not giving me grief.

    If I leave the old one for now, is the replace fairly straightforward, i.e. wouldn't involve taking everything apart again as with the clutch job? I just figure if it's a big labour item to do the slave, then it probably does make sense to replace it now.

    Thanks again everyone!

  2. #2
    Sr Member Flagrum_3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    6,279
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 345 Times in 276 Posts
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    What is your mileage? If you haven't noticed any issues and have relatively low mileage, don't touch it. Just get a new clutch kit put in and be done with it.

    Slave cylinder {clutch release cylinder}is pretty straightforward; http://www.mazda3tech.com/clutch_rel...m_r_-1100.html


    _3

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Flagrum_3 For This Useful Post:

    Scully201 (07-04-2019)

  4. #3
    Jr Member G ~ MINI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    345
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flagrum_3 View Post
    What is your mileage? If you haven't noticed any issues and have relatively low mileage, don't touch it. Just get a new clutch kit put in and be done with it.

    Slave cylinder {clutch release cylinder}is pretty straightforward; http://www.mazda3tech.com/clutch_rel...m_r_-1100.html


    _3
    Hey Thanks Flagrum_3 i may just do that the next time i flush brake fluid.

  5. #4
    Sr Member Flagrum_3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    6,279
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 345 Times in 276 Posts
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    Quote Originally Posted by G ~ MINI View Post
    Hey Thanks Flagrum_3 i may just do that the next time i flush brake fluid.
    Do what? I'm telling him to leave it alone; If it ain't broke don't fix it.

    Why are you flushing your brake fluid btw, do you track your car? Otherwise its a waste of money to do so.


    _3

  6. #5
    Sr Member Default User's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9,496
    Thanks
    1,364
    Thanked 1,783 Times in 922 Posts
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    If it ainít broke - donít fix it

    And TBH - Iíve never had to replace a slave cylinder on any of my vehicles

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Default User For This Useful Post:

    HellIan33 (07-23-2019),Scully201 (07-04-2019)

  8. #6
    Noob
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    Thanks all! I figured it would only make sense to do it if it required the same amount of work as getting the clutch apart, so seeing that that's not the case, I'll leave it be! Thanks again for the input

  9. #7
    Jr Member G ~ MINI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    345
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flagrum_3 View Post
    What is your mileage? If you haven't noticed any issues and have relatively low mileage, don't touch it. Just get a new clutch kit put in and be done with it.

    Slave cylinder {clutch release cylinder}is pretty straightforward; http://www.mazda3tech.com/clutch_rel...m_r_-1100.html


    _3
    Gotcha..if it aint broke...
    And yes .. tracking the car

  10. #8
    Jr Member G ~ MINI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    345
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    Stupid Question:
    Speed 3 have clutch lines.. Do Mazda 3 have clutch lines?

  11. #9
    Noob
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Should I replace the slave cylinder when I replace my clutch?

    That's right.

Similar Threads

  1. How do you know when to replace the clutch?
    By tommyx2 in forum Mazda3 General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-20-2017, 07:12 PM
  2. 2008 M3 GT - Clutch Master Cylinder Replacement
    By mazda axela in forum Mazda3 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-16-2014, 05:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •